After the Admission

You’ve been accepted to vet school–congratulations! What’s the next step? Glad you asked! There’s a TON of information about applying, interviewing, and gaining admittance to vet schools, but not a lot about the matriculation process: paying your deposit, finding housing, and purchasing all the neat things that are required for school and labs. Never fear, I’m going to lead you through what happens after the acceptance.

Tell Everyone!

The most exciting part about my acceptance was being able to tell my friends and family! This is something that I’ve worked very hard for over the past three years, and knowing that it all paid off was a wonderful feeling. I had so much support from my family and friends throughout this process; any time I felt like I was really struggling with school, these people were there to help me through and encourage me to press on towards my goal. They were just as excited as I was when I received my acceptance letter.

Paying the Deposit

By now you should know that an education in veterinary medicine does not come cheaply. Vet schools require students that have been admitted to pay a deposit in order to secure their seat. After April 15th, any seats that have not been secured can be offered to students on the wait list. For the Class of 2018, our matriculation fee could be applied towards our tuition after we matriculate.

Housing Hunt

Finding the PERFECT house or apartment is a struggle. There are so many factors to consider: Do I want roommates? How many roommates? How far from campus do I want to live? Is the commute too long? How much are the utilities? What utilities are included in the rent, and which ones will I have to pay separately? Is it pet friendly?

By the time I finally found my house, I was going a little bit crazy from calling multiple landlords, arranging times to go see potential houses and apartments, and sending the pictures to my roommates to make sure the house was agreeable to them as well. Fortunately, I was able to find a great house that’s close to campus, has a HUGE fenced backyard, and has a landlord (that maintains the lawn) who is available to address any problems that may arise. The Student Government Association at LMU-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM) set up a wonderful site called DCOMDO where members of the community can post ads for houses and apartments that are for sale or rent. This website was invaluable in my housing search; Harrogate doesn’t have a Craigslist or similar forum for the community to post rentals, so students stepped up and met that need.

Here’s the layout for the on campus residence halls.

For students that want to live on campus, there are apartment-style residence halls available. Each apartment has three bedrooms with a common living room and kitchen. Each bedroom has two sides separated by a wall, two closets, and a shared bathroom; vet students have the option of getting a private bedroom instead of sharing. So, there could be as many as 6 students or as few as 3 students living together, depending on how many students elect for the private room. The nice thing about the residence halls is that EVERYTHING is provided–beds, desks, dressers, washer & dryer, stove, microwave, refrigerator, couches, TV, water, cable, internet, electric, and sewer. So for students who don’t want to worry about moving or buying a bunch of furniture, residence halls may be the best option. However, many students have families and pets and elect to live off campus. Here’s the link to see pictures of the residence halls available for vet students.

Purchasing Equipment

One of the most exciting parts about gaining admission to vet school is the chance for nice, new, shiny equipment. At first, I was overwhelmed when I got my supplies list; there is SO much stuff we need, and it’s not cheap. First up: stethoscope. There are SO many different models out there in different colors and styles. Personally, I went with the Littmann Master Cardiology in the Smoke finish for several reasons. I want to pursue large animal medicine; after reading some reviews of different Littmann models, the main complaint that I kept seeing was that the Littmann Cardiology III was harder to get into the animal’s armpit to hear the heart because of the double-sided head. The Master Cardiology has a single-sided, slimmer profile head that will make this easier. Littmann also makes a veterinary stethoscope, but the acoustics are not as good as the Cardiology series; this stethoscope is longer (32 inches compared to 27 inches) and is a great choice for someone who isn’t sure if they will want a more expensive stethoscope.

This is my personal stethoscope that I purchased for vet school.
This is my personal stethoscope that I purchased for vet school.

Next up, scrubs and coveralls; we actually get to pick the color of our class scrubs! The CVM administrators are giving the students input on which of the 8-10 colors available we would like to wear for the next 4 years. They eliminated some colors that other programs are using already, like navy, because the scrub colors will be used for identifying and assigning students to particular jobs. For example, when we start our surgical skills labs, we don’t want a veterinary technician student accidentally being mistaken for the third year vet student during the surgery because their scrubs are similar colors. When we’re out working with farm animals, we’re required to wear our scrubs or coveralls/overalls. I’m going to be getting bib overalls similar to these for warmer days, and these for colder winter days. There are also neat jackets like this one that allow you to unzip a sleeve while keeping the rest of your body warm–this may be a future purchase! The Friday before classes begin, my classmates and I will officially don our coats in a White Coat Ceremony to celebrate our matriculation into vet school with friends and family.

Here’s an example of a dissection kit.

Finally, dissecting kits and rubber boots. Each person must purchase their own dissecting kit that contains all the different instruments we’ll need for anatomy lab, like hemostats, probes, scissors, a scalpel, and blades. All of this comes neatly packaged in a zip-up case so the instruments stay safe when they’re not in use. Rubber boots are a necessity when working around livestock-the soles are made so there is increased traction on wet, slippery surfaces like concrete, they can be easily hosed off to remove mud and dirt, and they keep feet dry all at the same time. Rubber boots can also be disinfected to prevent cross-contamination of a communicable disease. I got my rubber boots from Tractor Supply Company for $10 and plan on using some some sole inserts to make them more comfortable for working in for several hours at a time.

Hopefully, this post has given you a better idea of what to expect after you are admitted to vet school. I can’t wait for next August when classes begin and I get to know all of my classmates. If you have any other questions, leave a comment or email me!

 

 

Posted on May 6, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

mweissbuell

A great WordPress.com site

Trust Me. I'm a Med Student

Learning the science. Developing the art. At LMU-DCOM

Wind Band Wonderland

The definitive place for all wind band information

I Hate Practicing

Wild confessions of a professional flutist.

AbeSquare

Check in to see what's happening at Lincoln Memorial University

Chase's Corner

Come in and make yourself at home!

I'm in My Element

Musings of an LMU Chemistry Major

Write On!

The Life of an LMU Psychology Major

