Update: Vet School Is Hard!

Hi followers! Sorry I haven’t posted in a while–I’ve been thoroughly immersed in my first month of classes at LMU-CVM! From now on, I’ll only be posting once a month. Last week was our first round of testing…and let me tell you, vet school tests are harder and more exhausting than anything I ever had in undergrad.

Monday morning we had our first set of block tests; basically, we had tests over four subjects (neurophysiology, anatomy, parasitology, and histology) in one sitting-from 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. There were almost 150 questions from all of these classes combined and randomized so that I had no idea from which subject the next question would come. While it took some time to get used to the format and our computer testing software, SofTest, I’m glad that our administrators chose to evaluate us in this manner because this is the exact way boards are laid out–a question about any subject may come up at any time, in any order, so don’t get focused on one subject.

Tuesday afternoon I had my first lab practical for Anatomy. There were forty stations set up, and we had a minute and fifteen seconds at each station before rotating to the next, with fifteen minutes at the end for walk around and review our answers before submitting our answers.

Thursday morning, I had my final for One Health I: The Mind. This was our only grade in One Health, but our professor did a wonderful job preparing a study guide and review materials so that we all felt confident coming out of the exam.

By Friday afternoon, all of us were exhausted mentally, physically, and emotionally. Fortunately, one of my classmates was celebrating her birthday, so we went out to eat and just relax with each other before going home and crashing. We’ll receive our test scores soon so that we can better prepare for our next block exam…which is only a week away…

Happy studying!

Have any questions or comments? Post below! Check out LMU-CVM’s website or email me!

Posted on September 22, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

mweissbuell

A great WordPress.com site

Trust Me. I'm a Med Student

Learning the science. Developing the art. At LMU-DCOM

Wind Band Wonderland

The definitive place for all wind band information

I Hate Practicing

Wild confessions of a professional flutist.

AbeSquare

Check in to see what's happening at Lincoln Memorial University

Chase's Corner

Come in and make yourself at home!

I'm in My Element

Musings of an LMU Chemistry Major

Write On!

The Life of an LMU Psychology Major

